Canadian Electricity Association Recognizes Lifesavers

Ottawa (November 13, 2019) – Today, the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) honoured 23 employees of member companies who performed selfless and heroic acts to assist colleagues and other individuals within their communities. These individuals were celebrated at the annual CEA Board meeting in Ottawa in a special ceremony recognizing health and safety, sustainability and Lifesaver Award winners.

“We are incredibly fortunate to have these compassionate and altruistic men and women working for our member companies,” said Francis Bradley, President and CEO of CEA, “Every year we look forward to celebrating the unsung heroes of the electricity industry, hearing their stories and giving them the recognition they deserve.”

For almost 100 years, CEA has been shining a light on those who go above and beyond the call of duty. The Lifesavers Awards are granted annually to any employee of a member of the Association who was involved in a lifesaving attempt or acted to prevent further harm to someone who needed immediate assistance.

Bradley also noted “because of the extraordinary actions of this year’s recipients, lives were not only touched but saved.”

The following 23 individuals have been awarded a Lifesaver Award:

Yukon Energy Corporation

  • Darrell Johnson
  • Lowell Tait


  • Greg Bennett
  • Lyndin Edwards


  • Brandon Bailey
  • Cody Sastaunik
  • Alex Scappaticci
  • Larry Chorney
  • Brody Kronberg
  • Kevin Martin
  • Kyle Spilchen
  • Nevin Gurniak
  • Stacey Kazakoff
  • Mike Neubauer

NB Power Corporation

  • Serge Gendron
  • Joel Bertin

Nova Scotia Power

  • John Hopkins
  • Paul Demers
  • Darnell Tolliver

Maritime Electric

  • Scott A MacDonald
  • Tyler Pineau

BC Hydro

  • Nick Labadie

Newfoundland Power

  • Roger Pennell

About the Canadian Electricity Association

Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) members generate, transmit and distribute electrical energy to industrial, commercial, residential and institutional customers across Canada every day. From vertically integrated electric utilities, independent power producers, transmission and distribution companies, to power marketers, to the manufacturers and suppliers of materials, technology and services that keep the industry running smoothly -all are represented by this national industry association.

For Additional Information:

Sarah Robinson

Director of Communications

Phone Number: 613-301-8526